My Not-So-Secret Addiction

Posted on

Mabel's Labels Hoard

It all started with an order of Tag Mates and Skinny-Minis, but has quickly grown into something that can no longer be contained in my Buzzmama Welcome Kit box.  But I’m getting ahead of the story, let me rewind a bit…

Last year I was contemplating putting my daughter into childcare for my return to the full-time work force.  Being a preschool teacher for many years, I knew that personal items can go missing on a daily basis.  It was frustrating enough for us teachers, looking at ten pairs of Spiderman shoes in a size 7, and trying to figure out which child they belonged to.  Now I am a parent and really get the full spectrum of the cost of raising a child.  Of course you start out a school year with labeled clothing, shoes, and bottles, but labels made of masking tape and markers don’t last long.  So I had remembered in my adventures as a teacher, that Mabel’s Labels, made our lives a lot easier.  When I saw a parent arrive with their children’s items in those colourful, custom labels, I could breathe a sigh of relief.  In fact they could only make life easier if they changed diapers and wiped runny noses too.

So back to the beginning…I searched Mabel’s Labels on google, found them very easily, and within moments had placed an order for Skinny-Minis (custom sticky labels that are dishwasher safe) and Tag Mates (custom sticky labels for clothing that survive the washing machine).  I knew the Skinny-Minis would be small enough to put on my daughter’s soothers and the Tag Mates would fit even the smallest tag on her favourite sleep stuffie.  My order came in the mail, FREE of Shipping charges, later that same week.  I went on the site again and shopped around.  I soon found a link for something called the Buzzmama Program.  This peaked my interest.  So I applied and was chosen into this volunteer, word-of-mouth ‘club’ to receive perks for spreading the love of Mabel’s Labels

As you can see in the picture, I have amassed a small mountain of quality items from this Canadian company.  There are other items missing from the shot because they are in my purse or in use already.  Return Address Labels, Mama Cards, Shopping List pads are never out of reach.  The Buzzmama reusable canvas bag is folded and kept in my purse, which comes in handy very often.  I can’t seem to visit any friend without talking about it, and even have strangers stop and ask where I get those cute labels.  I had lost my daughters sippy cup in Zellers one day and didn’t know until my last name was announced over the store intercom…My husband thinks I have gone Mabel’s crazy, which reminds me.  I need to go check the mailbox before he gets home, I’ve got a Neat Freak Combo on the way…

About graceandme

twitter name @1975superstar educated, mother, wife, sister, auntie, friend, teacher, scholar, singer, writer, photographer, bookworm, socially responsible, Hope-filled skeptic, coupon clipper, freebie junkie,

3 responses »

  1. Diane from Mabel’s Labels here! So happy to see your post and read how our products have been able to help you. Love having you on board the Buzzmama Program! Thanks for the love. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love your blog. It’s nicely laid out. We need to keep spreading the word about the aspects of this subject. Good luck with it.

    Reply
    • Thank you for your encouragement, it’s a breath of fresh air after the week I’ve had 🙂 This is my third attempt at creating a blog/page. I started with less than amateur web skills. And really only starting writing snippets as therapy for PP depression a year ago. Two months ago I decided to make a go of being more organized and love how this page/design is shaping up. Thanks again, feel free to share my link if you have a friend that might like it too.
      A.D.

      Reply

Leave a comment